Rogues’ Gallery

The NYPD Rogues’ Gallery in 1909. Photographer unknown. Photo held at the Library of Congress.

To celebrate the return of the County Championship after its now traditional summer break, here’s the new page I’ve been going on about for almost a month.

I think I should point out that the title of this page is not mine but of a contributor who will remain nameless. I was thinking of calling it Team Photo but went rogue.

Please read all the text here before commenting so we can have a bit of fun.

Below are photos of people when they were kids, up to 18 years old, people who post, or have posted, comments on here from time to time. There may be additions later from people who didn’t get in touch quite in time and I’ll add them as and when they arrive. Some people sent more than one photo and they’re all here. There may also be a special guest appearance.

This all stems from an idea I had during an exchange about a photograph of Olivia Newton-John, Helen Reddy, Minnie Riperton and Linda Ronstadt playing tennis in the early 70s, and Billy said “They look so young”, I replied “I looked young once” and Thamessider replied to me, saying “Just the once?”.

The photos are in a randomish order, without names, and only I know who everyone is. Please don’t admit to being the owner of your own photograph or tell the story behind it for a while, so people can have a few guesses and so on, until I say GO! This may be a couple of days, maybe a week as some people aren’t able to log in every day because of w**k and everything – we’ll see how it goes.

Many many thanks to everyone who sent a photo, and I am very aware (because they told me) there are others who aren’t able to send photos for a very wide variety of reasons.

If anyone wants their photo taking down they only have to tell me. No questions asked.

Here we go. I hope it all comes out all right as I’ve never done most of this formatting stuff before:

1

Here, it’s the one on the left.

2

Here, it’s also the one on the left.

3

4

Here, it’s the one on the right.

5

This time, it’s the one on the left.

6

7

8

Once more, it’s the one on the right.

9

I’ve put these two lovely photos together as it’s obviously the same person, and… it’s the one on the right.

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

1,212 thoughts on “Rogues’ Gallery”

    1. Nice, but what’s going on with the foreground roof Romeo – looks like boulders on top of tiles?!
      Merry Christmas one and all by the way.

      Like

      1. This the whole roof of that building:

        And next door have a breezeblock hut they haven’t bothered to put a roof on fully so the corrugated material is held on by weights of various sorts:

        Like

  1. Oh.

    Najam Sethi is chair of the PCB.

    Like

  2. The young lad from Hackney who is staying here with our daughter is experiencing a lot of new things down here but the overriding impression he says is the sky, it’s so blue and high. At home it’s like there’s a ceiling there most times, a grey one but when it is cloudy here the clouds are really high.
    First experience of the local surf beach was 27c air temp and 25c water temp which blew him away.

    Sadly I couldn’t convince him to spend time on the couch to watch the Boxing Day Test as the rest of the household was heading off in search of koalas. They’re furry, irritable and likely to piss on you if you stand under their tree long enough. Even the warning that there could be Drop Bears in the forest didn’t deter him from heading out.

    *Does anyone know what date the Ashes Test at OT will be on and would that be the closest Test venue to Lincoln?

    Like

        1. Going, going, went! They stayed the 6 months, and found somewhere local to rent: Svitlana had very quickly got a rather good job in her field in London so was able to afford somewhere fast. She was ready for independence again, although she’s now finding it very tiring with a demanding full-time post (freight logistics from Eastern Europe through to Central Asia/India), plus commute, and not two other adults covering the housekeeping and childwatch… Also we do wonder if her daughter’s spinning something of a yarn about her progress at school, she’s in my daughter’s form and we suspect the picture being painted is far rosier than the reality! But it’s rather awkward to say much here.

          I enjoyed it while they were with us: had no problems, I thought we got on pretty well. I’m more used to houseshare from previous life, however: my wife wasn’t so happy, and I think this may have been part of it. Plus not – as she said – because of any issues with our guests, but she also spent a lot of time setting up and reluctantly co-running a charity for local hosts and guests, arranging various events and fund-raisers, and had really found this rather too demanding when done properly. So she’s been very happy to wind down in the last month, so far as she can with her other volunteering, family Xmas and a daughter in panto…

          Liked by 3 people

  3. I’ve been quietly marking the 50th anniversary of Britain joining the European Economic Community today.

    Ireland and Denmark, who joined at the same time, are still there and good for them.

    Happy New Year.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I see we will now be dialing C for Coach at the Middle. I understand that as well as leading the attack and coaching it, Tim Murtagh will also be making the teas and operating the scoreboard.

    He can do all of these things at once, he’s Test All-Rounder Tim Murtagh.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi, I’m back from a nice stay at my family’s, I’ve managed to catch a terrible cold from all the coughing people around me, the heater here has stopped working (I still have a small one to keep the bedroom warm), Pakistan Cricket doesn’t seem to show the test on youtube, and I accidentally deleted all my bookmarks last night.

    Happy new year, everyone! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. *All* your bookmarks???
      You, being computer savvy, will have a back-up, won’t you?

      I tried Youtube too, but the usual place is working fairly well at the moment.

      I wish I could have a bright idea about your cold and the cold but I can’t except for Route One, which is of course good whisky.

      Like

      1. Thanks, I have some cheap and not very strong plum schnapps. I’ve restored all of the bookmarks I remember having had, and I guess if I don’t remember them, they can’t have been that important.

        Like

        1. CANVSPS has just entered my lexicon and I’ll use it on the Guardian CC blog. I might even put it in the glossary in advance.

          I lost loads of bookmarks a few years ago and it was a nightmare so I do feel for you.

          Like

  6. This might be of interest to some, and not just those who like Jimi Hendrix’ music.

    The Death Of Jimi Hendrix’s Mother Inspired One Of His Most Emotional Songs

    https://www.grunge.com/1154227/the-death-of-jimi-hendrixs-mother-inspired-one-of-his-most-emotional-songs/

    It’s one of my favourite songs of his, although I seem to remember first hearing it by Rod Stewart, whose version was released a little over a year after Hendrix’s. I probably did hear Hendrix’ version first, as my brother would have bought Cry of Love (which it’s on) when it came out.

    Rod: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Ljipk4QgWE
    Jimi: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYZ8ofg9qKc

    Like

            1. I’ve always liked Sarfaraz. He’s not the best wicketkeeper around by some distance but I really like him as a player and compeitor. He did very very well today, his highest ever Test score.

              Like

Leave a comment